Book Reviews-Armed for Battle

Book Reviews

By E. Dowling on September 3, 2014

Format: Paperback

ARMED FOR BATTLE AND DESTINED FOR GLORY is a truly inspiring book. Victor’s true-life story of victim to victor is a superb testimony of God’s magnificent grace in the face of adversity. Victor’s rise from bullied youth to 26-time world arm wrestling champion portrays a true sense of “David and Goliathism,” and like the original story from the Bible, is nothing short of miraculous. Whether you are a fan of arm wrestling, a victim of bullying yourself, or just looking to be inspired by a modern-day Champion of God, readers of ARMED FOR BATTLE AND DESTINED FOR GLORY will be equipped with renewed hope, comfort, and encouragement to help battle life’s seemingly never-ending challenges. Ultimately, you will be drawn closer to Jesus, and your walk with Him will be strengthened. God bless you, Victor!
Format: Paperback

Victor leads you to experience your full potential (God’s plan for your life) by becoming victorious in Jesus, no matter what battles rage against you. Through his humble testimony you will be invaded by the power of Jesus’ Spirit! Armed For Battle will show you to The Way that leads to explosive and exhilarating living beyond a bland and meaningless life. Get ready to be led into the overflowing, abundant life Jesus has promised you! All for the honor of God!
ormat: Paperback

Mr. Torres poured his heart and spirit into this book! His past trials provides some contextual understanding for interpreting his life’s journey. Rather than accepting victimhood, his strong will and faith allowed him to shake off the cloak of victimhood and become a Victor over his circumstances. This book is contains powerful illustrations of resilience and is an excellent resource and read for all people of faith.
5.0 out of 5 stars Victor Torres is truly a man of God.  February 20, 2015
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
Victor Torres is truly a man of God. Despite his circumstances, he used every experience for spiritual growth. This book and Victor’s experience is helping me to heal from past hurts. Thank you Victor for sharing your experiences as it will help others through their healing process by turning to God & allowing Him to heal our hearts & our past hurts.
 
5.0 out of 5 stars
 Truly inspiring must read…, September 3, 2014
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
ARMED FOR BATTLE AND DESTINED FOR GLORY is a truly inspiring book. Victor’s true-life story of victim to victor is a superb testimony of God’s magnificent grace in the face of adversity. Victor’s rise from bullied youth to 26-time world arm wrestling champion portrays a true sense of “David and Goliathism,” and like the original story from the Bible, is nothing short of miraculous. Whether you are a fan of arm wrestling, a victim of bullying yourself, or just looking to be inspired by a modern-day Champion of God, readers of ARMED FOR BATTLE AND DESTINED FOR GLORY will be equipped with renewed hope, comfort, and encouragement to help battle life’s seemingly never-ending challenges. Ultimately, you will be drawn closer to Jesus, and your walk with Him will be strengthened. God bless you, Victor!

5.0 out of 5 stars The story intertwines the realities of life growing up poor and battling human frailties with that of God’s life …, September 1, 2014
Victor’s Torres’ Armed for Battle and Destined for Glory is truly a story of inspiration. From his humble and sometimes harsh bringing up, tormenting bullies and cultural bias, to his victory through Jesus brought to life with life changing divine intervention. The story intertwines the realities of life growing up poor and battling human frailties with that of God’s life changing grace who brought him from the depths of despair and lack of self worth to a conqueror of his past to a world champion! This book is a definite must for those who are searching for the answers to life’s challenges and the blessings that the one true God can bestow upon those who believe and trust in his son Jesus Christ. Thank you Victor for sharing this heart warming story of God’s grace and inspiration.
5.0 out of 5 stars Victor, a true champion, not only in his …, August 26, 2014
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
Victor, a true champion, not only in his sport, but in his life, lived out through Romans 8:37, is more than a conqueror. Through the trials and temptations of life, he can hold high his banner of 1 Corinthians 10:13 as he crosses one more finish line through his book, “Armed for Battle and Destined for Glory”.Page after page, you will plainly see that truly “the steps of the righteous are ordered of the Lord (Proverbs 20:24).” You will be blessed and encouraged as you journey through this book.Eddie Green, Senior Pastor
Keys to Life Christian Fellowship
Stockton, CA
Married 50 years
Marriage and Family Counselor for more than 35 years

5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed reading Victor’s book, August 22, 2014
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Victor’s book. It’s a life story of being knocked down, but not knocked out; it’s a life story of taking adversity and turning it into a positive; it’s a meaningful blend of overcoming through faith in God, but most of all, it’s HOPE shining through the darkness, bringing light to the down-trodden, and relief to the weary. Once I started reading, it was difficult to put down. This book is a must for all who are seeking to grow.God Bless,
Pastor Joe Chang

 
5.0 out of 5 stars
 he is a man of great faith and courage, August 20, 2014
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
Victor Torres is not only a 26-time world champion arm wrestler, he is a man of great faith and courage. A champion is not someone who never gets knocked down, but is one who always gets up. Victor’s commitment to Christ has helped him overcome the difficult times in his life, to make him the man, the father, the champion that he is. May his story inspire you to be a champion!

5.0 out of 5 stars Trusting God, August 19, 2014
By
Hector Gutierrez (ELK GROVE, CA, US) – See all my reviews
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
Great book of encouragement! This book underscores that nothing is impossible when we lean on and trust our Savior Jesus.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victor points out God didn’t create you to be average!, August 18, 2014
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
Armed for Battle and Destined for Glory is presented in a formatthat reminds me of Quentin Tarantino’s 1994 Academy Awardwinning movie, “Pulp Fiction.” Victor reflects on his past and

the present, simultaneously using scripture to overcome adversity.

With the help of Victor’s story, I took a deep look inside

myself to become a better spouse and parent, a better boss or

employee, a better community leader, a better friend–in short,

a better person.

Victor points out that God didn’t create you to

be average. You were created to excel! You have everything you

need to fulfill your God–given destiny, and there is no limit to

what you can accomplish if you discover how to be a better you.

Victor’s story encourages you to build your confidence, develop

better relationships, find peace within, and stay passionate about

life. His book encourages you to reach your unique God-given

potential, and will help you to enjoy every day of your life,

despite your circumstances.

Victor is deeply committed to elevating community awareness

surrounding key abuse issues and inspiring, educating, and supporting

people to rise above the limitations of their past conditioning and

re-discovering the true miracles that lie within each of us. As you

incorporate God into your life, you will be pleasantly surprised at

how much more He has in store for you.

(Randy Sampias, champion arm wrestler, voted Arm Wrestler of

the Year in 1988 through Armbender Magazine, arm wrestling

promoter for 35 years, including the Buena Park World Arm

Wrestling Championships, a college graduate, and a Vietnam

War Veteran)

A Rocky, Samson and David Conquering Heart Story, August 17, 2014
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
Insightful and inspiring message of determination, faith and obstacles. A ‘You can do it attitude’ like David against Goliaths. I’ve known Victor for over 18 years, and when he told me of his victories and championships through both left and right handed achievements, I stepped back and looked at this little statured man and could only believe his power comes truly by his faith and our Heavenly Father.

5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend Victor Torres’s “Armed for Battle”, July 14, 2014
This review is from: Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory!: Learning How to Bravely Confrfont Your Past So You Can Be Launched into Your Future (Paperback)
I highly recommend Victor Torres’s “Armed for Battle”. The contains his insights on arm wrestling as well as some great spiritual guidance for those who wish to overcome obstacles of the past. If you are in Competitive sports of any kind this is a must-read for sure!!!

5.0 out of 5 stars strength of character!, August 21, 2012
Victor Torres shows great strength of character! Let his inspirational message encourage your life. His commitment to people shows. I have personally known Victor for over 20 years. He has never backed down on any commitment to me or my family. What he says is true and inspiring.

5.0 out of 5 stars POWERFUL!!!…MUST READ FOR EVERY PARENT!!!!, August 17, 2012
Victor’s story from Victim to Victor is Powerful!!!! I know Victor personally, he is the real deal. This is a Must Read for any Parent!!!

5.0 out of 5 stars A book to inspire you – Read it!, August 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
Everyone loves a story about an underdog becoming an overcomer. The movies are full of those stories and we love to cheer on that underdog. We all have those weaknesses in our lives where we wonder if we will be able to conquer those challenges, which is why everyone identifies with the underdog. “Armed for Battle” does not disappoint. It is a very vulnerably honest autobiography about how a boy who had many struggles–a definite underdog–grows into a man who understands that gentleness, humility and love are the qualities of true strength. As God works on our spiritual lives, often there is a physical expression of that, and in Victor’s life that was manifest in the arm wrestling arena where he won many major trophies and titles. This book flips back and forth like a movie between Victor’s life story and the arm wrestling arena and God working out His plan to have Victor live up to his name. This book is a great testimony to God’s power working in Victor’s life and, ultimately, to how God will work in all of our lives, if we seek Him and follow His leading.
I highly recommend reading “Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory” because it will encourage you to see how God worked out great things in Victor’s life and it will also inspire you to believe that God has great things in store for you. All of our stories are different, but the God who created us is consistently good and loving and He wants to transform our weaknesses and failures into strengths and victories. Whether or not you are a fan of arm wrestling, “Armed for Battle” is a testimony that will inspire you to believe that God can transform your failures and weaknesses into something very beautiful.

5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for everyone!, August 12, 2012
Armed for Battle and Destined for Glory is a must read book for everyone!Victor Torres has been through many challenges in his life, and has discovered “arm-wrestling” as his motivator, and his faith in the Lord, to overcome obstacles throughout his journey in life.This book will surely help you discover the “driving force” of your inner self and help you reach your life goals, a day at a time.

Believe in yourself and the Lord, and you can overcome any barrier as you journey through life.

Read the book, start listening to your heart, and begin to achieve the many successess in your future, awaiting for you.

God Bless you all.

Bryan Chan

21,110 thoughts on “Book Reviews-Armed for Battle”